theadventuresofamelia

Saying Goodbye: It’s Bad for your Liver

If you’re reading this, odds are, you already know where it’s is going.  When I first stumbled upon this whole “quit my job and travel” thing, all I felt was excitement. Pure excitement and nothing else.  It never once crossed my mind that there would be any negative emotions once I took off. I simply thought I would get on a plane, leave home and never look back.  “Boy was I wrong,” is an understatement.  In the weeks leading up to my departure, I began to go into what I like to call “Oh shit” mode. I slowly began saying goodbyes and it quickly became real. I setup a sendoff party a week before my leave date, to be held at the local bar I worked at for 4 years.  I merged my advertising (work) friends with my bar friends, college buddies and even my parents. Needless to say, we had the time of our life. Well, I did, at least. A few of us cried at the end of the night, while my parents just tried to take it all in. They had a look I had never seen before on their faces. It said, “Oh my God, this is really happening.”

The next morning, with a cloudy head and a throbbing body (probably from my mad dance skills), it hit me: I’m really not going to see these people for a while.  Once I came to this realization, I did what any brilliant 20-something would do. I partied my ass off for the last week with any and everyone who would partake.  I was a beer-drinking, tequila-shooting, rock star. My body hated me, my bank account disowned me, but ya know what? We. Had. FUN. I went to my favorite restaurants with my favorite people and ran up tabs I couldn’t afford. I celebrated a close friend’s birthday (baller style) and even managed to pick up one last bar shift before I hit the road. Alas, I had a fantastic last night with my parents at my favorite local spot, where I ate wings and French fries like they were goin’ out of style. A great friend joined us and even came over afterwards to help me shove my entire life into a 65 liter pack until midnight.  Minus the tears, anxiety and panic: Everything was perfect. I was ready to do this.  

Jackie, you are a blessing. I think this makes move #3 with me.

This is NOT as easy as it looks. 2 pair of pants, 4 pair of shorts, 2 pair of flip flops, one pair of 5-finger shoes, 1 pair of tennis shoes, 8 tops, 1 long sleved shirt, an XL quick-dry towel, 10 lbs of toiletrees and medical necesities, a day pack, one camera, one iPhone and one brand new Kindle Fire later…….I was all packed up.

Thank you to my amazing friends and family for all of your support.  You have given me the confidence and ability to do this.  You will never know how appreciative I am for our relationship. As I type this from a couch in La Ceiba, Honduras, I can honestly say that I have the best friends in the world and I cannot wait to share this journey with them.  Look for the first travel post later today, amigos!

This entry was published on June 17, 2012 at 5:07 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye: It’s Bad for your Liver

  1. Rachelle Lehner on said:

    Glad to know you’ve arrived safely and ready to hear about your adventures as they begin ‘for real’:)
    Be smart, be safe, have fun!

  2. chris dickens on said:

    Baby…. you are living out all of our dreams! Please keep us all posted and my heart is with you. If ever you need anything holla!

  3. I hate that I missed your Bon Voyage party while I was in Stockholm, but rest assured, I toasted you several times. Have fun/be safe. Bob

  4. leslie on said:

    Your absolutely right on about your parent’s looks (not to mention the inner feelings). I keep thinking to myself that as each day of your adventure brings us closer to your “come home” time. That’s the way parents think. But glad your enjoying it so far. I will be thinking (and worrying) about your diving week. LOVE, Mom & Dad

Leave a Reply

